溶瘤病毒治疗是多种癌症治疗的一个令人兴奋的发展领域。溶瘤病毒的治疗效果是通过在肿瘤细胞中选择性扩增病毒,使肿瘤细胞裂解,并通过在肿瘤微环境中释放肿瘤抗原和病毒抗原来促进免疫刺激。然而,溶瘤病毒治疗遇到体液和细胞宿主免疫防御机制,会导致溶瘤病毒的快速消除和治疗潜力的显著降低。

为了解决这个问题,Calidi 生物治疗公司开发了一种新的基于细胞的给药系统,该系统可以: (1) 克服宿主的免疫防御机制;(2) 放大溶瘤病毒;(3) 立即改变肿瘤微环境,从而实现有效的病毒扩增和最佳的肿瘤细胞靶向。重要的是,这些效应并不受单个肿瘤特征的显著影响,因此,这种治疗方法适合于多种肿瘤类型。

Calidi Biotherapeutics平台利用了帶有痘苗病毒的同種異體幹細胞,從而阻止了患者免疫系統清除病毒。牛痘病毒和病毒編碼的蛋白質在幹細胞內部擴增,並促進病毒在腫瘤部位的初步擴增和擴增。該過程伴隨癌細胞的免疫原性細胞死亡,導致有效誘導有效的抗腫瘤免疫應答。 (見下圖)

高效的细胞给药联合增强的病毒,溶瘤病毒直接消灭癌细胞以及抗肿瘤免疫诱导的共同作用,使该方法不仅在注射的肿瘤部位,而且对远处转移的肿瘤部位都具有强大的抗肿瘤疗效。

我们的干细胞载体具有固有的免疫调节特性,可在肿瘤部位特异性和短暂性地抑制患者的抗病毒免疫反应。这种方法在异基因环境中能消除或显著减少患者特异性排斥反应,因此,这使我们的治疗方法更具有通用性。

Calidi生物治疗公司也开发了一种方法用来验证我们的细胞在同种异体环境中的应用。我们的干细胞载体平台,在患者免疫系统各组分都存在的情况下,仍然具有放大和传递溶瘤病毒的能力,从而验证了其兼容性。Calidi生物治疗公司的干细胞给药平台已被证明可以克服血清诱导的溶瘤细胞的牛痘苗病毒(VV)失活,从而显著性地提高了治疗效果。我们目前正在研究治疗的多种适应症,包括正在转移途中的黑色素瘤、对去势治疗具有抗性的转移性前列腺癌、三阴性乳腺癌以及膀胱癌,这些肿瘤类型都对目前的大多数治疗无效。

Today scientists are focused on the advancement of oncolytic viruses because they have shown promising results in pre-clinical studies with very good safety profiles in several clinical trials to treat cancer. However, oncolytic virus treatments encounter critical initial barriers that dramatically decrease their therapeutic potential.

Calidi Biotherapeutics has developed a ground-breaking cell-based technology to overcome those initial barriers. This approach drastically improves the therapeutic efficacy of oncolytic virus-based treatments. (See image below)

The Calidi Biotherapeutics platform leverages autologous or allogeneic cells, combined with a proprietary oncolytic virus payload, which prevents the viral elimination by patient’s immune system, and facilitates initial viral amplification and expansion at the tumor sites. This process is accompanied by immunogenic cell death of cancer cells leading to efficient induction of potent anti-tumor immune responses. (See image below)

Therefore, the combined effect of efficient cell-based delivery, direct cancer cell killing by the oncolytic viruses, and induction of anti-tumor immunity are responsible for the potent anti-tumor efficacy of this approach not only at the injected tumor site but also at distant metastatic tumor sites. (See image below)

Our cell-based delivery vehicles have intrinsic immunomodulatory properties that inhibit specifically and transiently the patient’s antiviral immune responses at the tumor site. This approach eliminates or reduces significantly patient-specific rejection when used in allogeneic settings, making our treatment universal.

Calidi Biotherapeutics has also developed a method validating the use of our cells in both autologous and allogeneic settings. Compatibility was verified by analyzing the ability of our cells to amplify and deliver the oncolytic virus in the presence of a patient’s immune system components. Calidi’s stem cell-based delivery platform can overcome serum-induced inactivation of oncolytic Vaccinia Virus (VV), thus dramatically enhancing the treatment efficacy. Therapies initially under development for prostate cancer, triple-negative breast cancer, and melanoma, which are all currently underserved by available treatments.